E-Fart

OK, did I get your attention with the title?  Here is a good workout if you need a change from the normal.  I call it my E-Fart workout.  Effort Fartlek, (yes pun intended, who names a workout fartlek and can’t laugh at it?)

1) Start with a warm up, 1-2 miles easy effort.

2) Run at 100% effort for as long as you can, when you feel like you are slowing down, then recover.  The pace or distance is not important, I would guess anywhere from 400m to 1000m if you have to have a number for distance and just as fast as you can run without falling. (O.o)

3) Run easy until you have recovered.  HR and breathing Effort is easy.  Again distance is not important, If you have a HR strap and know your zones, you should be in zone 2.  For me that is ~130bpm, but everyone is different.  You should be able to hold a normal conversation without gasping for breath.

4) Repeat Steps 2 and 3 until one of two things happen.

  • You can’t recover enough in step 3, it never gets easy.
  • You have 1-2 miles left in your workout.

Remember this workout focus is on the Recovery, so if you don’t recover, then don’t start another Fartlek.

5) Cool down with 1-2 easy miles, walk if you have to.

You can run this anywhere, up hill, down hill, track, and you don’t need a watch or anything.   Just run by effort.

This was what my HR looked like when I did this workout today.  Notice each rest interval I did not start until my HR was in the green (easy).  Two times, at 2 and 4 miles I did a pit stop switching the dogs I was running with (They need to exercise too) and you can see I really recovered there.  If you focus on recovery during your RI, you will find that you have a much better workout during the Speed section because you recovered properly.  It also helps you see how fast you can burn out in a race if you start out too fast.  This is a good fitness test.  Maybe the first time you try it you can only do a few intervals.  That;s OK, keep training and as you progress you will see results.

E-fart workout

About Coach Bill

I am a 48 year old runner. Three years ago I ran my first half marathon and have not looked back since. I am married, have two grown son's. I work at Toyota motor manufacturing Texas building Tundra's and Tacoma's as a skilled team leader in the press department.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

