Why do I run (part 2)

Why do I run (part 2)

It has been a while since I posted.  Training for a Marathon can be very time consuming.  As I sit on the plane going to my Marathon I have time to reflect and relax a bit from the hectic life of a runner.  The question keeps popping up in my head, why am I doing this again?

Why have I spent the last 18 weeks running sometimes in the rain, or at midnight, or for as long as almost 6 hours?  The funny thing is I don’t really know why I run.  It is like asking the question, why do we watch the sunset? Why do we sit on the beach watching the waves?  Sure, the easy answer is to relax, but running is not very relaxing.  Although I do find a sense of peace running that I can’t get doing anything else.  Ok, how about to be healthy, that might be it. For sure it is why I started running.  But now that I’m in shape, why do I continue?  To stay in shape?  Maybe, but I certainly don’t have to run a marathon to do that.

So why do I have such a desire to run, and not only run, but run faster in this marathon then the last.  Why do I feel such a need to hit a number to qualify for another Marathon (the Boston Marathon)?  I still can’t come up with an answer.  But I do know that it is important that I do it.  I suppose the best answer is I run to live.  To push myself and do something I never thought I could or others would not even want to try.

It still really makes no sense.  All I know, I have to do it, almost as much as I have to breath, I feel the need to run.  I know it makes no sense.  If you’re a runner, then you understand.  If you’re not a runner hopefully, someday, you will be.  Maybe you will be the one to answer the question.

Why do I run?

About Coach Bill

I am a 48 year old runner. Three years ago I ran my first half marathon and have not looked back since. I am married, have two grown son's. I work at Toyota motor manufacturing Texas building Tundra's and Tacoma's as a skilled team leader in the press department.
This entry was posted in Running Coach and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

