Run your RACE!

Run your Race! That is easy to say, hard to do. Before every race, make a plan. You need to know the route and weather. Study the route, is it hilly, lots of turns, how big is the race (# of runners). All of this will determine what you should run. Figure your pace from all the data, make a plan and stick to it. Make sure your finish time goal is realistic. Is it based on your current training and what you can run? Or is it a number that just sounds good?

I like to set three race goals, this way I can adjust to the race and still met my goal if there are uncontrollable factors.

Goal #1 – Perfect race; Weather perfect, course perfect, I’m well rested, it’s my day! (normally this is a stretch goal, but still within reach).

Goal #2 – Based on pace prediction charts and a recent 5K you ran (within 6 months), what is my predicted finish time. These prediction charts work only if you did the training required for the race you’re doing. If not, adjust based on your training.

Goal #3 – Catastrophic race; It’s 39^ and raining, It’s 80^ and windy. Another runner trips me and I sprain my ankle. I throw up at mile 8 of a Marathon. All of these could and I would guess will happen someday. So when they do, plan for it and adjust your pace to this goal.

Run your RACE. Do not let the race run you. Stick to your plan, even if someone is in front of you and you want to win. You will not win if you run their plan. There is a good chance that person does not have a plan and will burn out, you will pass them when that happens if you run your RACE!

About Coach Bill

I am a 48 year old runner. Three years ago I ran my first half marathon and have not looked back since. I am married, have two grown son's. I work at Toyota motor manufacturing Texas building Tundra's and Tacoma's as a skilled team leader in the press department.
This entry was posted in Advanced Runner, Beginner Runner, Half Marathon Training, Marathon Training, Running Coach and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

