Why do I run?

This is a question that has many answers. Maybe you want to lose weight.  Maybe you have running a marathon on your bucket list and want to check that off this year.  For me the answer is I run because I love to run.  But that was not always the reason.  I remember reading that Ryan Hall hated running at first, but he learned to love it. (If you don’t know who Ryan Hall is, he’s an American long distance runner. Check out his Wiki page.)

I ran as a kid to lose weight. When I was in the Navy, I ran to socialize with friends, and I started running again to lose weight. But I didn’t understand what it meant to be a runner until I ran a marathon at the age of 48.  There are times that I ask my self, why do I run.  Then at the end of my next race, as I cross the finish line, when everything works just as planned, made my goal and set a PR, when the training for 18 weeks, 60 runs, 430 miles all comes to one moment in time.  It all makes sense.  It’s for that split second, that is why I run.

Let me know why you run.

About Coach Bill

I am a 48 year old runner. Three years ago I ran my first half marathon and have not looked back since. I am married, have two grown son's. I work at Toyota motor manufacturing Texas building Tundra's and Tacoma's as a skilled team leader in the press department.
This entry was posted in Running Coach and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

